Burmese American Medical Association

  • Create an account
    Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.

History of our Association

E-mail Print PDF

A Nonprofit, Nonpolitical, and Nondenominational Professional Medical Association

Since 1960, physicians who had graduated from Burma had migrated to the USA for postgraduate training. They can only meet each other at social  gatherings occasionally  and  had felt the need for a well-organized association to coordinate the social gatherings and to maintain contact and share information and experiences to assist one another  for the training and practice and settling down in certain communities. With that common goal in mind, a group of Burma medical graduates gathered at Fullerton, California and held a preliminary meeting to explore the feasibility of the formation of such an organization which should be non-profit in status and tax-exempt, formed purely for the purpose of social, educational gatherings and community service. After several meetings, various temporary committee members were chosen to carry out the drafting of the by-laws and structure of the Board of Directors. On May 8, 1982, the first dinner meeting was held at the Golden Dragon Restaurant in Los Angeles. The President gave a speech explaining the purpose of the organization  and stressed the importance of team spirit and unity.

No. Year Name of BAMA Presidents Remarks
1 1982 Dr. Michael Ko Lay Maung   
2 1983 Dr. Hoke N. Ho  Deceased 
3 1984 Dr. Thomas Lee   
4 1985 Dr. Harry Chew   
5 1986 Dr. Michael A. Sein  Deceased 
6 1987-1988  Dr. Desmond B. Chiong   
7 1989 Dr. Eugene Taw   
8 1990 Dr. Eng Moy    
9 1991 Dr. Thomas Hwee   
10 1992 Dr. Constant Chan   
11 1993 Dr. Rosie  T Yeo   
12 1994 Dr. Calvin Tint   
13 1995 Dr. Daisy Tint   
14 1996 Dr. Gary Lim  Deceased 
15 1997 Dr. Soe Myint   
16 1998 Dr. Patrick Paik   
17 1999 Dr. Khin Maung Tint   
18 2000 Dr. Phillip Kaw   
19 2001 Dr. Kevin Kyaw Win   
20 2002 Dr. Eric Chwa   
21 2003 Dr. Zaw Win Lwin   
22 2004-2005  Dr. Anthony Lee   
23 2006-2008  Dr. Thant Zin   
24 2008-2010  Dr. Tin  Ngwe         
25 2010-2012  Dr. Leonard Liu         
26 2012-2013 Dr. May Kyi Nyein  
27 2013-2014   Dr. Su Su Hline    
28 2014-2015   Dr. Thein Oo     
29 2015-2016   Dr. Khaing Myint    
30  2016-2017   Dr. Sandar Kyi  
30  2017-2018   Dr. Kyaw Moe  
30  2018-2019   Dr. Cho Lwin  
30  2019-2020   Dr. Mya Myo Aye  
30  2020-2021   Dr. Wai Wai Soe  
30  2021-2022   Dr. Tun Tin  

You are here: Home About Us History