Burmese American Medical Association

  • Create an account
    Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.

About Us


E-mail Print PDF


President- Ohnma Win M.D
Vice-PresidentKyaw Moe M.D 
Secretary- Cho Lwin M.D
Treasurer-  Mya Myo Aye, MD 
Parliamentarian- Wai Wai Soe M.D


1. Dr. Thomas Lee, the chairman
2. Dr. Tin Ngwe

3. Dr. Zaw Win Lwin

4. Dr. Sandar Kyi

5. Dr. Su Su Hline

6. Dr. Thein Oo

7. Dr. Khaing Myint.

Sub-Committee members

Education Committee Chair Dr. Than Saung Lin
Education Committee Co -Chair Dr. Khine Khine Win 
Entertainment Committee Chair Dr. Tommy Leong
Entertainment Committee Co-Chair Dr. Sanda Win
Public Relations Committee Chair Dr. Kenneth Chhek
Public Relations Committee Co-Chair Dr. Edna Taikwel



History of our Association

E-mail Print PDF

A Nonprofit, Nonpolitical, and Nondenominational Professional Medical Association

Since 1960, physicians who had graduated from Burma had migrated to the USA for postgraduate training. They can only meet each other at social  gatherings occasionally  and  had felt the need for a well-organized association to coordinate the social gatherings and to maintain contact and share information and experiences to assist one another  for the training and practice and settling down in certain communities. With that common goal in mind, a group of Burma medical graduates gathered at Fullerton, California and held a preliminary meeting to explore the feasibility of the formation of such an organization which should be non-profit in status and tax-exempt, formed purely for the purpose of social, educational gatherings and community service. After several meetings, various temporary committee members were chosen to carry out the drafting of the by-laws and structure of the Board of Directors. On May 8, 1982, the first dinner meeting was held at the Golden Dragon Restaurant in Los Angeles. The President gave a speech explaining the purpose of the organization  and stressed the importance of team spirit and unity.

No. Year Name of BAMA Presidents Remarks
1 1982 Dr. Michael Ko Lay Maung   
2 1983 Dr. Hoke N. Ho  Deceased 
3 1984 Dr. Thomas Lee   
4 1985 Dr. Harry Chew   
5 1986 Dr. Michael A. Sein  Deceased 
6 1987-1988  Dr. Desmond B. Chiong   
7 1989 Dr. Eugene Taw   
8 1990 Dr. Eng Moy    
9 1991 Dr. Thomas Hwee   
10 1992 Dr. Constant Chan   
11 1993 Dr. Rosie  T Yeo   
12 1994 Dr. Calvin Tint   
13 1995 Dr. Daisy Tint   
14 1996 Dr. Gary Lim  Deceased 
15 1997 Dr. Soe Myint   
16 1998 Dr. Patrick Paik   
17 1999 Dr. Khin Maung Tint   
18 2000 Dr. Phillip Kaw   
19 2001 Dr. Kevin Kyaw Win   
20 2002 Dr. Eric Chwa   
21 2003 Dr. Zaw Win Lwin   
22 2004-2005  Dr. Anthony Lee   
23 2006-2008  Dr. Thant Zin   
24 2008-2010  Dr. Tin  Ngwe         
25 2010-2012  Dr. Leonard Liu         
26 2012-2013 Dr. May Kyi Nyein  
27 2013-2014   Dr. Su Su Hline    
28 2014-2015   Dr. Thein Oo     
29 2015-2016   Dr. Khaing Myint    
30  2016-2017   Dr. Sandar Kyi  



E-mail Print PDF

Good Evening BAMA Members, Invited Guests, Families, and Friends

I am honored to serve as president of Burmese American Medical Association for 2019. Your continued support is appreciated. Thank you also to outgoing president Dr. Kyaw Moe, Board of Directors, Advisory Committee, Executive Committee, sub-committee members, families and friends for their time and dedication to our association. I would like to ask all audience to support BAMA mission in all activities such as community education, residency seminar, mock interview, and Myanmar Medical Mission (MMM). Our sincere appreciation goes to many people in the audience and friends in Myanmar in helping Myanmar Medical Mission. Additional recommendation by Myanmar Consulate General U Aung Soe Win for United States Medical License Status of MMM doctors is very much appreciated. 

BAMA successfully finished two health education talks this year. I will continue this mission for the future. I will recruit new members from all branches of medical professionals, provide volunteer healthcare and health education services to our communities here and back in Myanmar. With this team effort and active volunteer activities, BAMA is flourishing. As more Myanmar doctors are matched into residency training programs in the United States, new generation physicians are encouraged to join volunteers at the Executive Committee and subcommittees to carry on BAMA mission.
I would like to recognize the donations and wonderful support to the Myanmar Medial Mission by BAMA members, friends who accompany mission, friends in Myanmar. The mission is accomplished because of you. BAMA will continue to be successful with this level of enthusiasm, unity, and love. We gave it all and everybody is a star at the mission.

I wish you all Happy New Year.



Page 3 of 4
You are here: Home Events